Giulio Caccini, “Amor, io parto” (by Montserrat Figueras)

Giulio Caccini “Amor, io parto”

Performers:
Montserrat Figueras, soprano
Hopkinson Smith, baroque guitar
Harmonia Mundi

Original text:

Amor, io parto, e sento nel partire
al penar, al morire,
ch’io parto da colei ch’è la mia vita,
se ben ella gioisce
quand’il mio cor languisce.
O durezza incredibil’e infinita
d’anima che ‘l suo core
può restar morto, e non sentir dolore!
Ben mi trafigge amore
l’aspra mia pen’, il mio dolor pungente,
ma più mi duol il duol ch’ella non sente.

Translation (by Flavio Ferri Benedetti):

Love, I depart, and I feel while I part,
while I suffer and while I die,
that I part from her who is my life,
although she rejoices
when my heart languishes.
O incredible, endless harshness
of the soul: her heart
can die without feeling pain!
Love pierces well
my bitter pain and my sharp grief,
but even more painful is the grief that she does not feel.

Comments are disabled.